American road trip 2011 D6 Yosemite Death Valley

Just a quick explanation: in the summer of 2011, my parents decided to take all six of us (four children between 22 and 16 and two parents) on a roadtrip through -mostly- the West Coast of the USA. This was written as a diary at the time, so keep in mind that this was written by a 22-year-old who was blogging to keep family and friends updated on our whereabouts. Enjoy! – Camille

My post today won’t be as happy or as long as you might be used to by now… This has two reasons: 1) not all that much happened today and 2) I wasn’t all that ‘into’ today’s programme. Woops.

This morning, we left for Death Valley (more to come about that later on). Of course, we drove through Yosemite National Park to get to Death Valley. Remember me saying YNP is big? It’s huge. Honestly-really-swear to God and hope to die-pinky swear. We saw some beautiful things (a gorgeous lake, lots of snow – I know right, snow?The first of July? When it’s almost 20 degrees outside?), but also some rather uninspiring views (burned-out trees, mooncraterish views without the added thrill of “ooooh, it looks like the moon!”). All in all, an OK trip.

And then… I moved to the back of the car. And fell asleep. Double woops. But in my defense: you can’t sit in the back of our car and not sleep. It’s impossible. And then I got out in Death Valley and almost crawled back into the car. Why? Because it was much cooler inside than outside the car. Let me explain something to you, ye faithful readers: I don’t do ‘warm’ very well. I do it very well if it means sleeping in warm places or something, but not the living in warm places part. Now, you might say “Just jump in the pool!”. I don’t do pools well either. Don’t ask me why, I just don’t. Which is rather weird, as most of my family members either almost live in the pool or next to the pool. I don’t like swimming all that much, I hate sunbathing and any temperature above 30 degrees is frowned upon (current temperature around 10PM: 46 degrees). Suffice to say that Death Valley and I, we don’t mix.

Until we went to eat… Death Valley won me over by not playing fair and I didn’t even mind all that much. I had the best burger. And -gasp*yaaaaaaaaay*applause- cheesecake! Let’s say “I’ve got a love-hate relationship with Death Valley” and keep it at that.

PS: Ever near Death Valley? Take a look at Zabriskie Point around sunrise or sunset. Gorgeous colours.

PPS: apparently, Dante’s View is also something to behold. I’ll let you know tomorrow evening.

Leave a Reply

