Boston – NYC 2013: Day 3: Salem and North Conway

In March 2013, a good friend of ours was finishing off his doctorate at MIT in Boston. Obviously, we had to go and visit him, steal him away from his work as much as possible and have a grand old time in the USA. I was the lone female in a group of four to five ‘adult’ (the word calls for more mature candidates, I’m sure) men. – Camille

I’ve visited Salem, MA! For those of you who don’t know what city I’m talking about, Salem is most famous for its witch huntings and trials (not even dogs were safe, though the moment the mayor’s wife was a suspect, all trials mysteriously stopped. Strange, huh?), but it also has a fabulous port and really nice streets and houses. Very movielike, all in all.

The weather turned beautiful today and we just wandered around everywhere, extremely glad we rented a car and went on a road trip. Basking in the sun is delicious after two full-on snow days. But we’re not finished with snow just yet: tomorrow we’re going skiing. Well, I say we, but I mean they: I’m not skiing. I’ll be doing a bit more basking in the sun and catching up with my reading while the boys try to out-macho each other on the skis. It’ll be fun for them and for me: Hurray!

My original plan was to take a scenic train ride through MA while the skiing went on, but during winter trains don’t ride here, apparently. It’s a shame, but I’ll be back during an Indian summer, one year or another. I promise.

Leave a Reply

