Boston – NYC 2013: Day 9: NY

In March 2013, a good friend of ours was finishing off his doctorate at MIT in Boston. Obviously, we had to go and visit him, steal him away from his work as much as possible and have a grand old time in the USA. I was the lone female in a group of four to five ‘adult’ (the word calls for more mature candidates, I’m sure) men. – Camille

Did you know the US Army has big ships? Like, huge ships? And they apparently come with equally huge amounts of flycraft. And they are not easy to find your way through, no matter what they say (I’m going to keep saying that until someone believes me. How was I to know there was no window glass inside that door and I was supposed to just step through? That’s asking for complications, if you ask me. And you are.). Very impressive, though. Nice.

Yes, we went and visited the Intrepid. And some of my companions took tens of thousands of pictures of it. That’s a lot. Before we went all war-mad, we walked across the High Line. I still find it impressive. New York is such a huge city, but if they can find a way to use their old metro rails in such a profound, environment-friendly and creative way, then surely so can we? Come on Antwerp, show me some attitude!

After the walk and the visit, it was time for some trains and a new visit: my auntie C’s place! We visited last time as well, but at that time they were still building the house/mansion and we only got the gist. Now it’s finished. I think I might like living there. It’s nice, it’s huge (see the mansion comment) and it’s actually really welcoming. Weird toilets, though. I don’t like heated seats, they make me wonder who sat on them before me. And I’m pretty sure those toilets were capable of thought. Spooky.

Sigh. Last day in NYC. I don’t really want this to end. *cue pouts*

Leave a Reply

