Tuscany 2013: day 3: San Gimignano – Volterra – San Gimignano

Disclaimer: in 2013, my boyfriend and I went to Tuscany for a week, where we wanted to explore the landscape by means of a Vespa. We were given four day trips (no GPS involved, just regular drawn instructions, which meant I gave the directions and the boyfriend drove the Vespa), all of which started in the centre of San Gimignano, where we stayed at a hotel nearby.

Who knew Vespas could be so heavy? As in: I can ‘t lift one. If one fell down on me, I wouldn’t be able to get away. Am I weak? Perhaps. Is that Vespa damned heavy? Absolutely. Conclusion: driving around on one with The Boyfriend behind me as dead weight (sorry sweetie, but there you have it) is a “Don’t go there”-thing. I’m not capable of manoeuvring the thing properly. On my own, I can handle it. Mostly even pretty nimbly. With someone else behind me, nerves and weight hit me doubly. Not a good combination.

Anyway, today was the beginner’s tour: Around 60 kilometres of smooth Vespa-sailing. We managed to find Volterra (not as easy as it would seem), got turned away from the Vespa parking (they were re-doing all the lines, which meant we had to do some illegal parking a kilometre lower – sorry, Volterrans!), got lost a few times, interrogated non-interested Italians and had a generally fabulous time. The weather was beautiful, the sun shone like a huge bacon in the sky and we did lots of stopping-for-pictures, shopping-around-in-San-Gimignano and general relaxing and vacationing. We’re good at that, I think.

Leave a Reply

