Tuscany by Vespa: day 1: Belgium – Germany – France – Switzerland – Lichtenstein – Austria – Italy

Disclaimer: in 2013, my boyfriend and I went to Tuscany for a week, where we wanted to explore the landscape by means of a Vespa. We were given four day trips (no GPS involved, just regular drawn instructions, which meant I gave the directions and the boyfriend drove the Vespa), all of which started in the centre of San Gimignano, where we stayed at a hotel nearby. 

We made it! We arrived in the nick of time in Trento, Italy, after visiting five other countries between Belgium and Italy. Oh boy.

This morning I woke up around 4.30 AM (I’d decided to clean up the apartment before I left) and left for the train station around 6.20 AM. There I took the train to Brussels, Liège and in the end Vielsalm. Unfortunately, the train from Liège to Vielsalm had a delay of 45 minutes, which meant me in a bit of a hurry to get to The Boyfriend (who was strangely calm and Zen). We then left for Italy, with the GPS uploaded and ready for action. And did it see that action or what? First, it mentioned that we’d arrive around 7.30 PM – yay! Plenty of time for food there, then.

Suddenly, it said ‘Oh hold on, I just received some new information. If you take that route, you’ll likely spend about two to three hours in a huge traffic jam in the blistering sun. Want me to find you another way there?’. Three guesses to our answer and the first two don’t count.

The other route was beautifully scenic, but a bit more expensive in way of toll paying. Really, Switzerland? 40 euros for a lousy vignette? Shame on you. Though it must be said: beautiful roads and tunnels. Well-kept indeed. Our money at work, right there. Lichtenstein was more in-and-out: before we’d realised we were there, we were already in Austria. No joke.

Anyway, we arrived in Trento, city famous for I don’t know what, housing the B&B where we now sit, spent, on the bed. No pizza to be found (oh horror), due to all the pizzerias being closed. I ask you, in Italy? Not fair! But we’re here, the room seems perfectly lovely and I’m terribly pleased to announce that tomorrow I won’t get up around 4AM. No sirree.

Tomorrow (hopefully): Verona (city of Juliet and her Romeo) and San Gimignano (city of tourists and high towers – apparently the NY of Italy)!

Leave a Reply

