Jakarta – Bali 2013: day 8

Note: at the beginning of July 2013, I went for a holiday with my parents, brother and sister. We braved Asia for the first time, explored but did it all in -more or less- style. The age of the group varied between 48 and 17. 

Ubud – Lovina

Did you know there are plenty of volcanoes in Indonesia? The last big eruption (or huge, depending on who tells the story) was somewhere in the 70s and managed to ruin lots of houses, villages and temples. They seem to be used to it and rebuilt everything from scratch and actually use the material that’s left by the volcano in their construction sites. So today, we went volcano rock-watching. I didn’t think there was too much to see, as the rocks are just that, but as an added plus they are very ouch-inducing (due to being very rough).
We also had another taste of the traffic here. I don’t know if I already discussed it here, but the traffic here is very interesting. Thee seem to be no rules, the horn is used as a communication device (as in ‘watch out, I want to pass you’, ‘watch out, I’m coming’ when you’re about to go into a corner where you can’t see a thing, ‘hey, I know you!’ and several more options) and there are about 20 times more scooters than cars. I get why, as it’s much easier to make your way through the narrow streets on scooter than in a car. I just don’t think my nerves would be able to take me driving in this traffic.
After the lava rocks and the long drives (I think we drove around 5 hours), we visited some gorgeous waterfalls. We had to take 324 steps down and up, but it was well worth it. The falls had created a natural pool, but due to the decline of the falls and the hardness of the water, it wasn’t really relaxing to swim there. But what a view!
At the end of the trip, we arrived in Lovina, a beach village. We went to Sea Breeze, a rather nice restaurant with live music, where we finally were able to celebrate the birthday girl. Nice food, lovely drinks, good atmosphere. Loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

